Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that the prevalence of cell phones and computers served as a driving force behind the lack of ability to communicate in person. I totally disagree with this opinion and think that the increased usage of electric devices improves people's overall communication skills. To begin with, due to the advancement of technology, individuals were able to communicate through social media. For instance, many people have conversations via social media such as Instagram and Facebook, by sending direct messages or making video calls to each other. Furthermore, they can simply reveal their feeling by leaving short comments on other people's posts so the way people express themselves has become diverse. Hence, it is not true that more and more people lack talking opportunities due to the increasing use of mobile phones and computers. In addition, smartphones and internet sites widen individual perspectives and thus, are beneficial in terms of effective communication. To be specific, these mediums enable individuals to comprehend each other more profoundly. To illustrate, computer users can meet numerous individuals with various personalities, socio-economic backgrounds, and nationalities while searching through the internet. Therefore, they became aware of the diversity of people and cultures. For instance, the emergence of YouTube lets people comprehend other cultures more effectively. Thus, this trend brought advantages in communication skills. To conclude, it is often believed that the increasing use of smartphone and computers led people to lose the ability to communicate face-to-face. However, I firmly disagree with this statement as I think that using these devices is favourable in cultivating communication skills rather than disadvantageous.