Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Professional players are commonly the favourite for huge quality to advertise their products or services since they have great influence over millions of community who follow them admired them and trust them. Brands spend outrageous amounts of money on advertising endorsements to sell and position their goods as a top of mind in user. The advantages for the companies and the personage participant are numerous in terms of profit and acknowledgement due to the more famous and influential the superstar is, the more crowd will consume the product recommended by him which represent great incomes for the companies as well as the professional, the more influence he has the more millions the variety will pay him to endorse their character. when it comes to the purchaser they also result benefited from the ads since they might discover a great and useful that they were not aware existed if it would not have been because they came to know thank to their favourite sports player announced it. For instance, Soccer competitor like Ronaldo who is the image of huge brands like Nike, Lamborghini among other non-profit such as Unicef the all above-mentioned gains knowability and trust thanks to Ronaldo who the image is impeccable and is recognized for always helping people and do good for people. On the other side, the disadvantages of endorsing a game athlete are that the picture of the quality can be affected by this persons behaviour and consumers might associate it with the character so instead of gaining reliability, the brand might lose the trust of consumers, as well as endorsing a product that might affect shopper could ruin the image of the celebrity who is endorsing it. Such is the case of Ralph Lauren and Ryan Lochte the American Olympic medallist who vandalized a gas station while he was in Rio de Janeiro during the Olympic games in 2012, not only Brazilians were mad at him but all the population who admired him turned against him, therefore, the brand, Ralph Lauren was forced to cancel their contract with him and had to apologise with the customer due to the Olympic swimmer behaviour which was out of control. The same was the case of an Olympic gymnastic medallist who was sponsoring a doll who had to cancel their contract with the brand since the doll was poisoning girls due to the unsafe materials the company used to produce the model. As well as the public that trusted the Gymnastics star and bought the doll and resulted intoxicated by the content of toxic material. In conclusion, in both cases using a sports celebrity to endorse a brand or the celebrity accepting to advertise a brand the contracts must be thoroughly examined by the 2 parties since it might benefit or damage the images of both as well as it might affect the consumers. Anyhow, when well managed and choosing the right partner be it the brand or the celebrity the advantages for both of them and the customer will outweigh the disadvantages by far.