Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don’t really need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Some say that people buy things they do not need because of the influence of advertisements. Others say that advertisements inform a person about new products that might make life better. I totally agree with the first statement as most companies strive for higher income and new clients. First of all, advertising is one of the main tools of modern organizations and companies. This tool is constantly modernized as it works effectively and has been tested over time. Apart from attracting new customers, one of the hidden goals of advertising is programming people's mind. For instance, some scientific researches proved that constantly repeated pieces of information can be stuck in the subconscious forcing a person to do unusual things in the future. In this case, it can be buying something new. Furthermore, advertising can greatly increase the income of a company. Usually, advertisements designed to look attractive even if they do not have any positive value. Moreover, a great number of detrimental products, such as cigarettes, alcohol and others, are advertised more often than other more beneficial products. This is because they are costly and make many people addictive creating a high potential revenue for companies and sellers. For example, in Russia, more than half of commercials is related to alcohol. This creates a big demand for such type of products and makes the owners of alcohol-producing factories richer. In conclusion, while some think that the goal of advertisements is to tell us about new products that may improve our lives, I agree with the idea that advertising encourages us to buy unnecessary things. I would recommend ignoring any advertisement as much as possible.