News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? would it be better if more good news reported?

In media channel editors make decisions as to what kind of news needs to be telecast and need to be printed in newspapers. Considering the television rating points and current social incidents affect the decisions of what news to be posted. In my perspective, people used to hear negative news and it would be better for society if good news is reported too. News channels’ popularity is the vivid factor to influences the decision. The reason behind this is that editors want to display only that kind of social issue, which lures the people to watch or read the news on repeat mode and give some level of satisfaction. Consequently, this will help the editors to grab high TRP and earn more money. For instance, last week, a news channel showed the dispute of a celebrity couple and the channel ranked as the highest TRP among all other news channels. Besides the ratings of the channel, current incidents having the potential content for gossips and rumours influence the decision of channel management teams. It is because youth like to read hot topics relating to corruption, scandals, murder, drug-peddlers, and so on; therefore, editors show news related to that only, as the audience read it by taking more interest. Due to the current pandemic situation, people are more used to hearing bad news. As the death rates are increasing y by day, everyone reads news of COVID cases, financial crises. Moreover, some personalities like to read-only negative and spam news about other persons’ life tragedies. I strongly agree that good news will give positive hope to society. My friend, for instance, came out of depression, after listening to the news of the opening of lockdown, because he was suffering from financial problems. To conclude, owing to the current hot tragedies and ratings of channel influence the choice of the staff while selecting the news. Indubitably, people like to hear negative news, but more positive news would be better for today’s generation.