These days, mobile phone and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays cellular phone and the internet play a major role in connecting people all over the world. In my opinion, there are a plethora of benefits because it makes people life more convenient and efficient which outweigh its drawback. To begin with, communication in the modern world become easier with the help of cell phones and the internet. Since people can connect with anyone by clicking a button on the screen. There are several applications on the phone which provide opportunities to cover long distances in seconds. In addition, in case of emergency the individuals can convey their message and location through messenger to closed ones. For example, the Times of India reported in a recent survey that 20 per cent decline in crime rate against women and children because they can connect to police at right time via phones when they found themselves in danger. Moreover, work and study from home, these days, have only become possible due to online interactions as they can retrieve the information from any part of the globe. To illustrate, during the Covid-19 pandemic, internet services in the form of virtual meetings has proved to be a boon for the students and working community. A major disadvantage of this technology lack of face-to-face interaction. This is because people connected through Facebook ignored the physical interaction. As a result, people are lack emotions and less fascinated in a social gathering, sometimes this may cause serious issues like depression and anxiety. In conclusion, I believe that several advantages, but it is purely the user’s choice of how much time they want to spend on the phone and other digital gadgets for social interactions. Otherwise, the innumerable benefits of mobiles and e-communication are paramount.