A country's success is often measured by its economic progress, but many people believe that other factors should be utilized.

Many people gauge a country's success by its economic progress; however, this can often be very misleading. There are many other factors that can give a clearer picture of a nation's success, and I think that the most important factor is the people's level of happiness. To begin with, just because a country is wealthy does not mean that it is successful. The two richest countries in the world are the United States and China, but the distribution of wealth in both countries is very uneven. There are many other factors that are much more accurate indicators of a country's success. One such factor is the rate of immigration vs emigration. If the number of people moving into a country is greater than the number of people that are leaving the country, then it is probably a good place to live. Other factors include the people's access to good quality healthcare, the amount of government corruption, and the level of social support. While these are all important factors, I think that the people's level of happiness is the best indicator of a country's success. Every year, a group within the United Nations surveys a sample of people from countries around the world. The data that they compile is used to generate the World Happiness Report. The survey asks people to evaluate their lives on a scale from 0 to 10 based on parameters like GDP per capita, access to healthcare, corruption and social support. For the last six years, the happiest country in the world has been Finland. Finland may not be one of the richest countries in the world, but its people are comfortable and well taken care of by the government. In conclusion, economic progress is one factor in determining which countries are the most successful. But it is just one of the many that make up the most important factor of all, which is their level of happiness.