Nowadays, people in some countries can choose to live and work anywhere they want because of the improvement in transportation and communication technologies. Discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of the phenomenon

Nowadays, a great deal of attention has been paid to how people work. Some people insist that workers are able to decide the place where they work and live, thanks to the development of transportation and technologies. In this essay, I am going to examine merits and demerits of the opinion. To begin with, there are two advantages of this phenomenon. Firstly, people can use their time efficiently. Since the Internet and related technologies have developed, employees do not need to commute to their office, and they have become work from home. In general, the Japanese spend two hours a day for commuting. However, this change makes it possible to save the time and use it more productive ways, including self-development. Furthermore, people are able to widen their perspectives because they can travel around the world without quitting jobs. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages. For example, serious mental diseases are caused by a lack of communication. In fact, a woman killed herself due to a depression that was caused by loneliness. In addition to this, the environmental problem will advance when people more likely to move. As a matter of fact, transportations, such as the aeroplane, emit lots of greenhouse gases including carbon dioxide. Statistically, aeroplanes account for 13 per cent carbon dioxide emission on earth. To conclude, there are two merits which are that people can save time for commuting and expand perspectives. Yet, there are also drawbacks, such as mental disorders and environmental problem.