Many museums and historic sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than by local residents. What are the causes of this? What can be done for museums and historic sites to attract more local visitors?

The number of residents who visit local museums and historic sites is often lower than visitors. Multiple factors lead to this situation and there are various approaches to tackle this problem. One possible reason is that sometimes local people have to pay the same admission fee as tourists. In fact, the ticket price of some tourist attractions can be quite expensive. Although it is worthwhile for visitors because it is often a once-in-a-lifetime experience, dwellers of that city may feel unmotivated to spend such a great amount of money on a regular basis. The second reason for this situation is that collections in cultural facilities always remain unchanged within a long period of time, Therefore, they tend to be less attractive to those local citizens who have been there before and people may prefer to spend their time on other appealing activities. Government should provide more funds to museums and historic sites so that they can update their relics frequently. These funds can also be used by the owners to organize more culture-related exhibitions and training programs. Meanwhile, organizers need to work closely with the local media, schools and communities to make sure that local people are well-informed of these activities. Therefore citizens can get the information via a number of approaches and hence become more likely to pay a visit. Meanwhile, giving residents a discount for the ticket can also be an effective way to attract them. People will flock in as long as these activities cost less of their life budget but are still educational. Last but not least, shuttle buses can be arranged by either owner of these sites or the government if these places are located on the outskirt of the city. Although there are a few reasons that result in this situation, we can surely come up with several methods to cope with it.