Some people believe that the development of technology and improved software allow us to translate between languages automatically. Therefore , it is not necessary to learn foreign languages any more. Agree or disagree

In recent years, it has been believed that technological advancements provide us with several automatic translations between languages, thus, learning languages is not a priority. The writer is not convinced by this assumption because understanding languages helps people have natural conversations and avoid misleading information. Initially, it is crucial to understand that face-to-face conversation is always a better option compared to having a translating device. To be more specific, individuals may express feelings and emotions via intonations in direct communication, while automatic machines cannot showcase various tones of speakers. To a certain extent, unless listeners identify different intonations from their partners, this will bring them a sense of confusion about the meanings of content that speakers want to convey. For this reason, learning languages assist people to understand comprehensive meanings from foreigners. Additionally, there are also several errors in the automatic translating systems. To explain in more detail, these machines have just been programmed in particular cases, therefore, when it comes to special situations, the automatic systems cannot translate this information and give listeners sentences with different meanings. Consequently, individuals comprehend misunderstood information and then respond to their partners with wrong answers, resulting in unsuccessful contracts or even conflicts among nations. However, on condition that people learn about languages, they can know how to be flexible in each situation so as to understand exactly the meanings of speakers. In conclusion, the writer emphasizes that languages still play an important role in conversations due to the awareness of the emotions of the speakers and avoiding errors in automatic machines.