University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their degree.Do the advantages outweighs the disadvantages of this trend.

Studying in a foreign country is becoming very popular among university students. Although they might encounter cultural and language differences, However, I believe the merits which include access to superior facilities and self_ reliance far supersede the drawbacks. There are a number of important benefits of acquiring education overseas.The first advantage is that it forces learners to be independent. That is, they are able to work hard and stay focus than relying on parents for support, thus giving them the opportunity to confront any challenges and also be more confident. Secondly, students have access to a standard learning aid. This makes it easier to receive the best possible teaching in their chosen field of study. To illustrate this, A Recent research in a daily6 newspaper stated that 80% of overseas graduates were outstanding in their specialities as opposed to those that attained their degree in Nigeria. Therefore, getting an education in an alien country is beneficial. Despite the benefits, there are some drawbacks associated with foreign education. The main issue is that the cost of living is expensive. Some of the people are struggling with expenses like school fees, housing, transportation, feeding and other necessities, so most of them do part_time job in order to meet up with a standard of living. In addition, they might face cultural and linguistic problems.The way of life,traditions, customs overseas is different from the home country, so this might hinder interaction with people at the initial stage while trying to learn and adapt to their lifestyles. For example, When my brother travelled to Saudi Arabia for his degree program in 2019, initially he encountered a lot of difficulties trying to interact with the residents because most of them communicate in the Arabic language. However, these demerits pale when compared with the drawbacks. In conclusion, the trend of studying overseas is increasing. While students might face ethnic issues.I believe the advantages which include freedom to control own affairs without interference and access to quality equipment far outweigh the disadvantages.