Children who start reading earlier in life perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child's academic performance? What other preschool factors influence a child's academic success?

Reading is a basic skill that opens all doors of knowledge. Children who were taught to read at an early age tend to perform better in school. This essay will emphasize the importance of reading at a young age and highlight other skills that can influence their success in school. Without a doubt, being introduced and mastering reading skills at a young age is crucial to a child's future academic success. Children have an amazing ability to learn new information and skills. First of all, it simplifies school. Being able to understand and participate in lessons makes children more eager to learn. Additionally, young individuals who learn the shape and sound of letters precede their peers. For instance, it is noticed that children who were taught in prestigious preschools excel in primary school. Last but not least, reading expands knowledge and empowers the child to learn on their own and independently explore a new world. However, as well as reading, there are also other important skills that contribute to academic excellence. One example is art. This allows children to explore their artistic side, which is as crucial as reading because some students posses great potential to become artists. In other words, they may not perform well in the field of academia but could succeed in the field of entertainment. Another potentially important skill is learning how to use technology. Notably, there is a universal movement to eliminate the use of paper and replace them with tablets and smart devices. In conclusion, it is clearly evident that reading at an early age is vital to academic success. Moreover, having children absorb many other skills at a young age can also impact positively on their success.