Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a steady rise in the growth of the travel industry from past times. Few people believe that the tourist industry is profitable for the local communities and needs to be pushed. On the positive side tourist industry will help in the economic growth of a country. On the contrary, it has an appalling effect on the local society. In my opinion, I strongly agree to motivate the industry. On the one hand, the Tourist industry will help in raising the GDP of a country in so many ways. International tourism will help in creating so many new jobs like waiters in the hotels, establishment of new local shops and restaurants etc. In this,way it will decrease the unemployment problem in a nation. Furthermore, the standard of living of the individuals also raises. In India, for example, the percentage of contribution by the international tourism industry to economic growth in 2015 is 10% which has been raised to 25% in 2020. This clearly explains to us, how International tourism will aid in the economic aspects of a country. On the other hand, the multi-national travel industry will have an appalling effect on the local traditions and culture. In particular, The younger generations will be easily attracted to western culture by leaving their customs. In addition, they even lose the basic essence of their traditions, customs and local language. A recent study, made by Stanford University students reveals that there is a huge decrease in the number of local languages spoken in Russia in the last 10 years, and this is due to global tourism. In conclusion, the inter-continental tourism industry has both advantages and disadvantages, but advantages overweigh the disadvantages. However, it is the responsibility of one's own nation to bring the laws or reforms to maintain the equalities of society and develop tourism.