Everyday, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think it is happening and how can we resolve the problem?

An increase in dining out culture and mismanagement of leftover edibles are the main reasons causing this problem, which can be resolved by the creation of proper food management systems and with a change in our eating culture. to begin,With the increase in income, easy availability of food and cheap prices the trend of eating out has increased a lot. When people go to restaurants, in the tempt of eating various cuisines they often end up ordering more than they can eat, and hence end up adding to the food wastage. Furthermore, eateries also contribute to the problem. Instead of properly managing the leftovers and avoiding the cost of handling the unconsumed food, it is often being dumped. For example, in most of the food courts when a customer leaves the leftover food on the table, it is immediately cleaned by the workers and thrown away in dustbins. Hence, the mismanagement of edibles at eateries is one of the causes behind this wastage of food. moreover,Proper handling of leftover food is the need of the hour as there are millions of people around the globe who cannot manage to have a proper meal even two times a day, while tons of food is being wasted. Setting up food banks is one of the solutions. Restaurants and eating points should be instructed to not throw the leftover food, and instead send it to the food banks, which can then further distribute it among the needy and hungry people. In addition to this, people should be educated about the importance of food for those who cannot afford it, and to respect and value their food. Installing signboards and hoardings at eateries asking people to just order wisely and according to their appetite can improve the situation to a great extent. In conclusion, the habit of ordering more than they need and mishandling the unconsumed edibles has resulted in increased food wastage, which can be resolved by setting up food banks for the collection and proper distribution of leftover food and by educating people about the importance and value of food for those in need.