The advantages provided by English as a global language will continue to outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree with the statement?

In this age of change, English as a global lingua Franca facilitates intercultural communication. Meanwhile, the expansion of the English language has its drawbacks along with benefits. Subsequently, the perception may be different from person to person. Personally, I believe that English, as a global language has advantages on many levels. When we look at the positive aspects of the English language as an international one, we can see all the benefits. To start with, English is easy to learn, unlike Chinese or Russian. More specifically, English has a relatively simple grammar structure and globally familiar- the Latin alphabet. For example, if Chinese was the international language people would have to spend years learning only letters. Moreover, English has many words in common with other languages, and other languages can easily adopt the new English words. On the negative side, the expansion of English can erase some languages; consequently, cultures will be gone obsolete. For instance, Latin is a dead language because nobody speaks this language anymore. Thus, the culture which dates back to Latin is also lost. Whereas, contemporary governments promote their national languages among the population while encouraging young people to learn English. Therefore, the disadvantages of English language globalization are quite limited. In short, I would concede that the prevalence of the English language may cause a loss of cultures if governments do not take timely measures. Despite that, I believe that the advantages it offers outweigh the disadvantages which are soundly based on the reasoning I have presented above.