Immunisation programs can prevent common childhood illnesses. Should immunisation of children be compulsory or should parents have the right to reject such programs?

A currently contentious issue relates to whether vaccination programs should be mandatory so that youngsters will not suffer from sicknesses or whether parents should be free to choose if they get their children immunized. In this essay, I am going to explain why immunization has to be compulsory. First of all, most parents are not engaged in jobs in medical fields. This means that they cannot make proper decisions concerning people’s health. For instance, there was a child killed by a terminal disease in Japan. The doctors who treated her suggested that she be vaccinated to recuperate from the sickness, but her father, who was not a medical practitioner, turned down the suggestion, leading to the death of the child. He firmly believed that if she received the vaccine, she would pass away. However, medical authorities claimed the completely opposite thing. With proper vaccination, she would still be alive. Secondly, immunization programs greatly contribute to the development of nations. In fact, such programs are said to be a driving force behind the economic advancement of developed countries. This is because vaccination reduces the number of children dying before they become five years old, providing countries with sufficient labor forces. On the other hand, It is said that If vaccination became more common in African nations, where about 90 out of 1,000 children pass away by the time they are five years old, they would lift themselves out of poverty. To conclude, there seem to be more benefits than drawbacks to making immunization programs mandatory. Considering the preciousness of youngsters’ lives, there are no reasons governments should not make it illegal for parents to prevent children from being vaccinated.