Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

It has been pointed out that an increasing number of people have been working for a longer time than the predetermined hours. In my opinion, this is caused by the fierce competition in the job market, and it has caused mental issues and harmed physical well-being for those who work for a longer time. The reason leading to the current working condition is the increasing competition in the working environment. In order to secure their lucrative job opportunities and satisfy their managers’ requirements, employees have to show their high level of enthusiasm to work. In this way, they are able to earn enough money to support their livelihood. For instance, a significant number of office workers working in international companies in Beijing present that in order to keep their decent jobs, they have to stay back to continue doing extra tasks after regular working hours. They are living in an overly competitive atmosphere. Furthermore, this trend has resulted in detrimental impacts on people’s life quality and physical health. Those who always have to work overtime do not have enough free time to communicate with their friends and family members, which impairs the quality of their interpersonal relationship, thus they feel lonely and depressed. Besides, employees who spend most of their time working have a sedentary lifestyle, which incredibly hampers their body healthy. As an illustration, individuals who are hired by renowned accounting firms say they are facing digestive issues as they do not have enough break after their lunch. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinions about reasons and causes of working beyond regular hours. I consider that the increasing competition in the working atmosphere is the reason, and this terrible trend leads to health issues for employees.