Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

The problem of overpopulated cities is becoming an increasing issue across the globe. Perhaps the largest contributing factor to this issue is the disparity between economic opportunities and living standards in the metropolis and provincial areas. The solution lies in investing resources into the latter. The gap between the availability of highly-paid work within large metropolitan areas, and those in smaller provincial towns or cities, is undoubtedly the leading cause of overpopulation in the larger economic hubs. This leads to larger municipalities facing overcrowding, which impacts their ability to provide the necessary infrastructure and facilities needed by their inhabitants. The reason behind this exodus is clearly demonstrated in a recent survey of university students in Vietnam, during which 80% of respondents stated that post-graduation, they intended to work in the country’s two major economic hubs, Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City. Moreover, when probed further, the lack of high-income opportunities within their own provinces or districts was given as their utmost concern. The solution can be found s how governments balance economic development across their nation. The dilemma faced by authorities is how can financial growth and advancement be maintained in metropolises, while at the same time, preventing a decline in employment chance, earning power and living standards in provinces. If the regions of any given country facing this situation are to be addressed, then a clear solution is to develop powers and taxation away from nations to local government. This will ensure that local authorities can invest locally collected tax into educational and economic improvement programs which directly benefit the local community, which in turn will give companies increased incentives to invest money into such fields. This was evident when the city of Liverpool, in the UK, was given such powers. Consequently, it was able to achieve the status of City of Culture in 2004, which resulted in a rise in visitor numbers, investment, and an increase in job chances. Furthermore, there was a 10% decrease in the number of locals seeking work outside of the region within the 3 subsequent years. This is clear evidence that local investment is key in addressing the issue of overpopulated urban areas. In conclusion, all the while the problems of those living in small cities are not being dealt with by means of local investment, people will continue to be drawn to larger economic hubs, where they are better placed to find higher quality jobs and possibilities for career development.