Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women a being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

Most women we see on television or in advertisements are portrayed as young and slim irrespective of their age or the nature of their work. While this phenomenon leads to several issues like depression and health problems, there exist several possible ways to alleviate the situation that this essay puts. To begin with, promoting young and thin women in media may create various problems. The primary one is that it can increase depression. For example, many advertisements show how boys get impressed with young and fit girls, which could impact less fit and overweight girls, who might think of themselves as worthless. As a result, they may get depressed and ultimately lose self-confidence. Another problem is that health issues are rising among women. Indeed, after getting motivated by slim models from TV, many girls follow a strict diet and even skip meals to decrease their weight. This may lead to health disorders like anorexia and weakness that can adversely affect their future life. There are, however, some solutions that can be taken to solve these issues. Firstly, media and television should show such content which would promote woman as strong, independent, and career-oriented. In other words, more movies should base on life stories of successful women like Indira Gandhi, Kiran Bedi, which would encourage females to achieve some goals in their lives and increase their confidence. Secondly, if girls follow a healthy and proper diet, they could maintain their weight and not face any health issues. For instance, we see many female celebrities who are slim and healthy at the age of 50 by doing a proper diet and not compromising their meals. In conclusion, there is no doubt that because of promoting the image of young and slim women, issues like depression and health disorders are increasing, among other females. However, showing some encouraging content on television and following some useful health and diet tips can reduce the effects of these problems.