Some people believe that individuals over 65 should not be allowed to continue working. Others think that people should be allowed to work for as long as they choose. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is not uncommon these days to find that people work till the day they die. It is argued by some that people should retire at the age of 65 years, whereas others think that it should be the choice of the person to decide when they want to stop working. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and give my opinion. On the one hand, experience is invaluable. This is to say that, the older generation of workers have seen a lot more of life and have heaps of knowledge regarding the job when compared to their younger counterparts. For example, in the post offices now, if there is a power outage and it is not possible to use the computers, most newbies would not know what to do but, those labourers who have been working since before the advent of technology will know age-old methods to get the work done. On the other hand, as humans grow old, their capability to learn new skills decrease. This is because, by the age of 60 to 65 years their cognitive abilities start to deplete. Thus, they tend to be slower than their younger colleagues and require more assistance with the latest technology and instruments in the office. Despite their abundance of experience, they become a burden in the workplace. For instance, if someone has to keep on helping a geriatric employee repeatedly, it brings down the efficiency of the company. To conclude, while aged people are seasoned professionals, they fail to catch up with the times in terms of speed and skill. In my opinion, it is best for veterans to halt their work at 65 years.