In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Industrialization has caused drastic changes in society. One of the notable effects is the fact that people from the countryside are moving to big cities, which leads to a decrease in the rural population. In my opinion, the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks due to two main reasons. First, this is an effective population redistribution process as the response to the modifications in career demands. The advances in the modern era led to the automation of jobs in the fields. As an example, the sowing and seed planting tasks have been carried out by modern machines on various farms. As a consequence, the requirement for manpower in rural areas is diminishing. In contrast, more and more economic centres have appeared in recent years, which creates thousands of job opportunities for immigrants. Therefore, rural people moving to urban areas is in fact an obvious phenomenon to balance the job market. While the production rate in agriculture domains are unaffected thanks to automatic devices, the performance in developed towns is improved. Second, this progress also increases the overall education level in the country. Due to the lack of educational facilities, the majority of people are illiterate. Cao Bang, for instance, is an agricultural province where there are only two colleges and few high schools. As a result, the younger generation here consists of mostly uneducated people, thugs and burglars. After people moved to developed cities, the crime rate in the area dramatically decreased. On the other hand, these civilians easily gained access to schools and some of them even came back to help their neighbors and relatives. In conclusion, the migration to developed areas is a miracle that not only accelerates the development of the countries but also creates more chances for people to have better education and prosperous lives.