Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language still could be advantageous. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Remarkable improvements of speech recognition technologies in recent years appear to offer an easy way out to learn a new language, so society tends to use software instead of learning. However, being multi-lingual is a better option than using the translator tools, and I will explain the reasons for my belief. The main reason would be a mistranslation, especially a language which has the tone. For example, in Chinese, one for has more than five different meanings according to the tone, so that that translation tool will be mix up the meaning; then it leads to misunderstanding each other. A secondly, the underlying mechanism of the translator apps is word to word. It means that cannot translate the slang and idioms used by people in daily life. Also, some words have different meanings depending on the situation, but translation apps fail to convey their exact meaning. Hence, it can cause misunderstanding and confusion. However, using the translation software is effortless, low-priced, and pocket-friendly; they fail to provide the word's true meaning. In addition, learning a new language by oneself gives massive benefits for individuals like improving cognitive thinking and digging to different cultures. To sum up, the limitation of the current translation software probably cannot distinguish the word's meaning in different occasions and cannot provide the true meaning of the idioms. Therefore, it seems that learning a new language is still valid.