Countries should produce the food that their population eat, and import as little as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Since the beginning of time agriculture is what make it possible for humans to thrive and evolve. Currently, every nation grows some of their basic needs and buy from other places the rest. However, there are some individuals who believe that each country should produce their own food in almost totality. I tend to disagree with that statement because it is either impossible or economically silly. Firstly, some types of crops only grow in specific environments, which would be expensive to replicate. In other words, some kinds of food only thrive in cold weather while others need a warm climate and water. For example, countries that have extreme weather would have to build controlled environments to achieve this. Therefore, the prices would rise substantially because replicate different climates is too expensive. Secondly, even in countries with regular temperatures this is impossible. This is because the country would have to build farms where there are houses or technology companies now. Take Japan as an example. This nation lacks land and to be able to grow most of their food they would have to destroy their technology factories to give space for crops. Nevertheless, there is not enough land to be sustainable in the long term. In conclusion, I totally disagree that all nations should stop import food. This is because in places where it is possible the prices would rise exponentially and in other countries this is impracticable. Thus, this would make our world retrocede in time as most countries would be worried about agriculture.