Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

With more and more people becoming fathers and mothers as compared to the previous decade, there has been a drastic change in parenting techniques over the recent years. One such method of parenting is to let the child do whatever he or she wants in addition to buying whatever they want. Nonetheless, whether or not it is a liable way of parenting is the topic this essay will discuss. On one hand, when parents buy their child whatever they want and give them the freedom to do what they like the child will most likely obey their commands and will listen to his or her guardians more. A study conducted by the National University of Singapore has concluded that when parents fulfilled their children's desires 96% of the time, the child tended to comply and cooperate with them more. Furthermore, parents have also reported their little ones showed elevated signs of happiness and joy. In short, when guardians bought their kids gifts and gave them the freedom to do whatever they wanted, their youngsters had a better mood and was more cooperative. On the other hand, gifting children gifts on a regular basis tended to spoil them and does not educate them on spending habits. A survey conducted by Harvard University in 2019 has stated that when kids were repeatedly bought gifts they would simply demand more and more and their demands would never be satisfied. Besides, children will not know the value of money and hard work if they do not work for their reward. In summary, when juveniles are bought whatever they want it becomes apparent that they will get spoiled and not know how hard they will have to work to earn that money. In a nutshell, it is believed that when kids receive rewards like toys and sweets from their guardians they are in turn getting spoiled and lose respect for money. In order to mitigate the situation, parents must only reward their children when they do something to deserve it. For instance, they could score a good grade on a test or be on their best behaviour for a given period of time.