Global warming is actually not real and politicians and media should spend time debating more serious issues such as how to decrease poverty. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Many people believe that global warming is actually a myth so politicians and the media should pay attention to more dangerous issues such as how to curb poverty. In my opinion, although poverty causes inhabitants to live in low-quality conditions, politicians and media should attend to global warming, which is the cause of habitat loss and species extinction. On the one hand, national authorities need to debate on how to alleviate poverty since it declines the living standard of citizens. Poverty means a lack of personal budget, which leads to lacking access to quality services and opportunities. For example, students from economically and socially underprivileged families have difficulty accessing quality education since their parents cannot afford to send their children to high-quality educational institutions. Therefore, they do not have opportunities to pursue a career that can secure a minimum level of financial success. As a result, they cannot support their personal lives and their families when they grow older. This may decrease the quality of individuals’ lives On the other hand, global warming is true and many attribute habitat destruction to human-caused climate change. It is commonly believed that the development of many aspects, especially technology and transportation will result in environmental pollution. The advance of automobiles, for instance, contributes greatly to air contamination since four-wheel vehicles emit a tremendous amount of exhaust fumes - the common air pollutants. This may lead to ozone layer depletion and climate change, which alters the temperature of the planet Earth. As a consequence, glacier melting occurs, causing sea levels to rise gradually. The further result is the wiping out of the habitats of many animals and the extinction of marine species. In conclusion, although poverty is a serious problem, I believe that politicians and the media should spend time tackling the effects of global warming.