Nowadays, full-time university students tend to focus on their studies. Some people think it is essential for university students to be involved in other activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate over the importance of studies or other activities for full-time college students has persisted in modern society. Some people believe full-time university students should focus on their major subject, while others think that they should be asked to take part in other activities. I firmly disagree with those who claim that it is necessary for students to be involved in other activities, and I will discuss reasons in the following essay. First of all, the main reason is students ’ responsibilities. Individuals who are determined as students must focus on their studies and become professionals. For example, university students who major in chemistry should learn some professional knowledge and skills, such as organic chemistry, kinetics, and technical analysis. They also need to pass exams for credits, complete their degree, and get the diploma. Therefore, I think that students have a responsibility to achieve high academic performance. On the other hand, others claim that it is necessary for college students to be involved in other activities. They believe students can learn some practical skills from other activities. For example, when students take part in a basketball team, they can learn how to cooperate with their teammates. Moreover, some students might apply for an internship, and they can get some practical experience. Admittedly, it seems to bring a lot of benefits from other activities. Yet, a lack of a stable theoretical foundation might cause exam failures. In conclusion, undergraduate students should put their studies on high priority rather than others. From my perspective, it is free for students to participate in other activities, if they can look after their major.