Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

We are living in high-speed development world where it fills with people full of spirits of competition. Since a competitive environment has brought continuous improvement relentlessly in our society, people view it as a very good quality to possess. In this essay, I will elaborate on the way in which competitiveness influences a person differently and the reason why I personally consider it as a good quality to admire. First of all, a competitive environment can either encourage a person or discourage him. Let’s take a student as an example: being arranged in a competitive study environment, a student can opt to learn actively or passively, depending on how the student considers his own future. A positive student will definitely embrace the competition he faces, whereas if a student holds an optimistic attitude, he might accept the current situation and await his doom. Therefore, the influence of competitiveness will bring different effects on individuals, which relates to their own opinion towards the issue. Though being competitive won’t everyone’s choice, but in contemporary society, I firmly consider that competitiveness is a good quality for the public to cultivate. For one thing, competition is one of the main factors boosting the progress of the world. The reason why our world can become so modern today is responsible to the society which is full of the person who possesses such spirit. For another, being active is always beneficial for people’s physical condition. A recent health report reviewed that nearly four-fifths of people’s diseases are originated from the passive living attitude. In addition, the fact is whether we join the competition or not, the demand from school and the job market is always there. Sooner or later, we must confront them and try to increase our competitiveness. Therefore, I don’t think avoidance of competition is a wise strategy. In conclusion, competition influence people in various ways though, I still strongly believe that instead of avoiding it, we should embrace it smiling. Only in this way, can we live a blessing life.