The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to solve this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some of the public feel that the optimum way to address the strain that the rising number of obese people put on the healthcare system is to add in more physical education classes in an effort to tackle the health issues involved. I disagree to a certain extent and will explain why a prevention measure is a better approach. While many think that extra lessons on the human physique could help curb the increasing amount of people becoming obese, it might not be the best solution. Firstly just being educated on the topic is not enough, but as community, we should implement a system that will encourage the masses to eat healthy from the start as a way to prevent the population from becoming overweight. As such, the government should place a tax on sugar, the main culprit of creating health issues as over-processed foods that contain a lot of sugar affect the overall health of a person the most. For example, marketing and advertisements tend to push sugary cereals as a healthy breakfast choice when it is obviously not, considering how high the amount of sugar is present as an ingredient. Therefore, once a sugar tax is in place, the cost of overly sweet food items would deter consumers from purchasing and consuming them. As a result, this would lead to more people opting for healthier choices for breakfast, such as oatmeal, greek yoghurt and fruits. Aside from diet, promoting a healthy lifestyle is another great way to nip the flower in the bud. For example, making sure that new parents and young children are educated on nutrition can help prevent the population from growing fat in the first place. In conclusion, I disagree that introducing more physical education courses would help much in terms of helping to shoulder the pressure that the increasing number of overweight people put on the healthcare system. Rather, it is better to place taxes on sugar and promote a healthy lifestyle.