Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is claimed by some that advertising on Television,radio, press or even on digital platforms are highly successful in motivating general public to purchase goods and services whereas, others disagree and claim that due to its common approach people tend to ignore the persuading nature. In my view, I completely agree with the latter statement as current consumers are inclined to research more before making a purchase decision. To begin with, many multi-national companies spend billions in advertising to promote their potential product portfolios with the objective of increasing awareness among consumers. Owing to the attraction of commercials as well as the positive brand image some users are persuaded to buy products irrespective of an actual requirement. Moreover, these promotional campaigns provide information on benefits and features of products which might create a need for the viewers. For example, an individual by seen an advertisement on a new series of I phones might be motivated to buy the new phone as a result of its attractive specifications. Therefore, the power of commercials are clear. The alternative view is that people are no longer motivated to buy goods just by watching commercials. First and foremost, competitors such as Toyota and Honda use the brand slogan as the number one car dealer in the world. However, as people are more knowledgable and have plenty of sources to research about the two brands, they might not believe the advertisement but, further ask for peer opinions and reviews. As a result, paying attention to commercials have drastically dropped over the years. In conclusion, although some people state that public can be pushed to obtain services through advertisements, I strongly believe that the end consumers are more educated and they do thorough research prior to a purchasing decision.