Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree?

Celebrities are talented artists often seen on television and even on social media like Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. Many argue that these artists from the showbiz industry have a negative influence on young individuals. I totally disagree with the above statement. Children are great imitators, they tend to act just like how their favourite celebrity does whether in a good way or a bad way. To exemplify, children burden their parents to buy trendy clothes just to look like their idols and if they do not get what they want they tend to manifest unacceptable demeanour like having tantrums or screaming inappropriate words. Hence, parents suffer from financial and emotional torture, especially if this happens frequently. Although there are some negative effects of media coverage of celebrities, there are also tremendous advantages. Firstly, artists being seen by young individuals on television and even on social media can be a good source of inspiration. Children become happier and energize when they see their Idols, they tend to imitate them not just the way they dress but also when it comes to their talents like dancing, for instance. As a result, young people are more encouraged to hone their talents or acquire talents at an early age. Secondly, artists can save people's mental health, especially during this pandemic. For example, the entertainment brought by celebrities on social media and even by merely appearing on TV can brighten someone's day, especially that many individuals including the young ones are suffering from psychological problems like anxieties, high levels of stress due to uncertainty, and profound sadness which really affects their daily lives. In conclusion, although some would say that media coverage of celebrities has an awful effect on young children. I strongly believe that showbiz personnel is of great influence when it comes to entertainment especially today.