Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to the university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays some students used to take a break to travel or work before they start university education. While this may impact their focus on studies, this helps them to get life experiences as well as work experience which can be useful in the future. I believe this trend has more beneficial outcomes than drawbacks, which will be examined in greater detail. To begin with, it is irrefutable that travelling experience gives many lessons for life that a person cannot obtain from classroom activities. For instance, it helps to discover different places, people, culture and also teach how to deal with challenges. When a person gets this experience at an early age, this helps to tackle challenges and problems that arise in the future. Furthermore, if a student manages this break to take on a job, he/she can obtain work experience as well as earn some money, which would be beneficial in the future. For instance, once the university study completes, the prior work experience would support them to get a job offer as most companies prefer hiring experienced candidates rather than freshers. Because of these reasons, I believe taking a year off between studies would give more benefits. However, Although this gives the above-mentioned benefits, it is undeniable that this has drawbacks as this would affect their focus on studies. For instance, in Asian countries, usually a student studies continuously for 12 or 13 years in school and another 4 years on the campus. If they take a year off between this period, this breaks their momentum of study which would be hard to begin later. When considering this fact, it is incontrovertible that having this kind of gap would impact their productivity. In summary, it has become a trend that students decide to allocate some time for travel and work, before continuing their higher education after leaving school. While this has some drawbacks which affect the productivity of a scholar, this gives more benefits which they can get experiences which help in the future.