Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely noted that rules and regulations have many connections on an individual's lifestyle in a noticeable way. In my opinion, the idea that individuals could do anything based on their personal preferences could hamper social functioning is valid. Firstly, even though there are many problems associated with the functioning of society without orders and laws, people especially those from the young generation could not distinguish what is right or wrong without knowledge of such guidelines. Hence, these activities breed the offender for some serious crimes in future. Secondly, without the existence of any regulations and law enforcement, anyone can commit a crime without any restrictions, irrespective of the type of offence or assault that acts as a setback for the country’s development. For example, official authorities could easily get involved in fraud and money laundering from the national budgets and not encounter any punishments affecting the political, economic and social disturbance in the country. On the other hand, it should be acknowledged that the law must guarantee social stability by imposing rules to act as an incentive for reduced criminal activities and perpetrators could take the harsh punishments into consideration. For instance, in Vietnam, individuals would be compromised from ownership of illegally smuggled weapons due to the fear of life imprisonment imposed on people with weapon accessibility, suggesting a causal relationship with the reduced rate in homicide cases, ensuring social soundness. In conclusion, an individual has the freedom to do anything based on personal preferences, which could be instrumental in the downturn of society. Additionally, official authorities should undertake practical initiatives to ascertain the righteousness in citizens for the long-term sustainability of society.