Nowadays, parents give their children more freedom than parents did in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, children are given more freedom by their caretakers more than ever. Although there are some drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that there are far more benefits. The main drawback of giving children freedom is that it might result in altering their attitude and behavior to the worse. This is because since children are exposed to various life situations such as going to school, they are potentially subjected to harmful effects from their surroundings, in case of no parental intervention. For example, several children might be affected by their peer pressure. With that in mind, if parents did not prevent their offspring from dealing with this bad companionship early, this may result in drastic change in their personality such as being disrespectful to others. Having said that, giving children freedom is most likely enhancing their mentality. This based on the fact that children must be prepared for making pivotal decisions in their future life; Thus, if parents raise their children on making decision by giving them freedom of making choices, children will start to develop sense of autonomy. For instance, nowadays, many parents gave their offspring monthly limited amount of money to cover their expenses as they hold them responsible in case of spending all this money shortly; therefore, before purchasing anything, they have to reconsider their choice thoroughly to determine whether it worth the expenditure or not. As a result, they are likely to handle their financial needs successfully in the future, Conversely, if they relied on their parents to give them money whenever they need, they will probably fail in their lives years to come, resulting in severe situations such as bankruptcy. By ways of conclusion, despite giving children freedom might result in consequences such as negative influence from surrounding environment, I consider it to be a positive development after all as it consolidates their sense of independence.