Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, some people try being self-employed instead of being an employee in a company or an organisation. This essay will analyze some reasons for this decision, as well as the downsides of being self-employed. To begin with, having your own business brings more flexible working hours, moreover, people like to be their own boss. On the other hand, income is an important reason for those who choose to not work for others. To clarify this point, considering a designer working for an advertisement studio, a partial part of the money that the customer pays is the company's share, while when there is no company, all the income is for the designer. However, there might be some disadvantages, initially, finding customers is not easy at the beginning, and it has a significant impact on earning money. An illustration of this is that a freelance photographer may not have projects for a month and as a result of that, there will be no payment while working in an organization usually provides a regular salary no matter how many projects you do. Additionally, there may be a high possibility of failing and being unemployed in self-employment. In conclusion, individuals like to work for themselves rather than others because of the more independence that it provides. On the other hand, the downsides of this kind of job could be the risk of not being successful and not being paid regularly. It's a risk that many are willing to take, that sense of freedom and the chance to fully reap the rewards of your own hard work.