“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating disease is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

The cost specific to develop a new drug and treating an ailment has been increasing manifold. While there are some that are difficult to detect, most of the diseases can be prevented at early stages by taking appropriate measures. I am of the strong opinion that by investing in preventative measures, a huge cost associated with treatment and research can be saved. Firstly, when infections are generally spread, there are many fatalities. The direct and indirect expenses pertaining to deaths are much higher. For instance, dependents and other relatives of the patients incur an enormous amount of money on the treatment and insurance claim in cases of death. All this expense would not have to be spent, had there been prevention earlier. Additionally, there have been many widely spread diseases that require heavy investments in research and development to identify the root cause and a solution thereof. In fact, our world is currently facing one of the deadliest viruses in human history. The health organisations such as WHO and many governments across the globe have put a lot of effort in terms of time and funds to conquer the infection. Although one cannot easily identify or predict these kinds of deadly infections, numerous preventive methods such as social distancing, wearing masks, etc. can limit the spread. Therefore, the investments in educating people about the ailments, strictly adhering to the rules along with the other preventive steps can reduce the overall costs and save more lives. To conclude, the expenditure on preventing and detecting infections at the initial stages is more effective as compared to the costs incurred on developing the medicines and treating the patients.