The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television order to decrease the level of violent crime in society. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that mass media generate significant impacts on public thoughts and behaviours, therefore violent scenes in movies or TV series are blamed for the rising crime rate in society. In order to resolve this social issue, some citizens propose that it is the government that should regulate the amount of violence in those programs. People advocating this statement do have a good point. Even though there is no scientific evidence, it is common sense that being exposed to plenty of criminal wrongdoings portrayed in films contributes to impulsive crimes. What’s worse, offenders even learn criminal means from the movies, such as how to kill victims in one shoot as well as how to abuse the hostage in the cruellest way. It is also worth mentioning that adolescents who are at the age which features the strong ability of imitation and a lack of awareness of abiding by laws tend to go astray or be involved in organized crimes. Obviously, under such a circumstance, there is no doubt that the authority must shoulder the obligation to censor those films or TV programs that contain explicit scenes of violence. In China, this practice is strictly implemented and does serve the purpose of diminishing the number of crime incidents, especially in metropolises. Conversely, it is understandable that the government’s interference exploits the right of free speech that should be granted to every individual. In other words, directors or scriptwriters are the ones who determine the plot and the best form to express the essence of their works. However, as Thomas Hobbes (a British politician and philosopher) explained that the attainment of liberty is based on the guarantee of common benefits, so this view does not withstand scrutiny. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned rigorous censorship should be enforced by the government so as to reduce the amount of violence in mass media. Besides, large-scale educational campaigns aimed at enhancing public awareness of obeying laws and regulations are supposed to be launched. Only in this way, can social security be strengthened.