Advertising has become an unavoidable part of everyone's life. Some people say that advertising is a postive part of lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

Advertising-these days are part of our modern society. We are surrounded by advertising campaigns whether it is an advertisement on a billboard, in a shopping centre or an advertisement that pops up for example while we watch a Youtube video. Advertising-these days are everywhere. Some believe advertising is a positive development, while others feel that it has a lot of negative drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion about advertising. Certainly, advertising does have a positive role in our daily lives as it informs us about products or services which we may need. If we are struggling to get a tough stain out of a shirt, for instance, and we see an advertisement about a product that is on the market that guarantees the removal of any tough stains then it would be useful for us to buy the product. Also, if it wasn' t for the advertisement we wouldn' t have been aware of the product. In addition, advertising also creates a lot of job opportunities, from the company that manufactures the product, to the person who markets it and the retailer who sells it. Creating job opportunities also boost the economy is becoming stronger. Despite this, some see advertising as a negative development because it may create a want in people to buy products or services which they don' t really need or can' t afford. When one sees a product or service which you can' t afford it might lead a person to go into debt by borrowing money from their bank, friends or relatives. It can also have a long-lasting knock-on effect as they may struggle to get get out of debt. Another negative development is that a lot of advertisements are aimed at children. Children might see an advertisement about a toy, for example, and will ask their parents to get them the toy. Whereas the parents might not be able to afford it leading to a lot of tension in the household. In my view, although adverting does have its drawbacks, by creating a want for a product which one don' t necessarily need. It does have some very positive aspects such as creating job opportunities for a lot of people. In conclusion, advertising is here to stay especially in our modern society. Although, certain advertisements should be controlled especially those aimed at children. It is necessary to keep society informed about what products and services are available.