Some people believe that individuals over 65 should not be allowed to continue working. Others think that people should be allowed to work for as long as they choose. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In my countries the world over, it has been observed that people after the age of 60 start to face health-related issues. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that it should not be permitted to do any jobs by elderly people over 65 ages, others contend that people have the right to choose until when they will continue to do work. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that it should be the individual decision when he or she wants to stop working. Inasmuch as it is the natural phenomenon to suffer from many diseases such as diabetes, cardiovascular disorder, memory loss to name but a few at a later stage of life, a person should not be allowed after the age of 65. In other words, if an individual having some health problems continues to work an elderly life, it not only has disastrous repercussions on his or her health but also has negative impacts on the quality of work. To cite an example, researchers around the world have found that the productivity of old workers is 20% less compared to the efficiency level of young labours. Thus, in order to save old-age people from further ailments because of doing works and reduce the number of low quality work, elderly individuals should not be given permission to work. Plausible though it may seem that many physical disorders hinder the working capacity of people over 65, it worth arguing that people should be allowed to take their own decision until when they want to do work. This is mainly because having state-of-the-art treatment facilities help people nowadays stay energetic and fir for longer life. As a consequence, if a healthy elderly person is not allowed to do work, there is a high chance of having mental depression down to spend idle time. To exemplify, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 90% of old people are suffering from a mental disorder due to not having an opportunity to do any productive works. In conclusion, admittedly, over-aged people sometimes cannot do properly because of health issues but it can be overcome easily. Hence, I unequivocally buttress the stand of giving permission to elderly people to do work.