Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

Every student has to undergo the exam process in their life, where some perform well and others underperform. However, this has raised a discussion between two parts of the society where one thinks that students who are top-performers in the class should be rewarded whereas others believe that those who are trying hard to improve their score should also deserve recognition. Securing the highest rank in the class is not everyone’s cup of tea and those who reach this level should be commendable and rewarded, as it requires a lot of hard work and dedication to achieve this stage. Apart from this, to become a top performer, students also have to compromise with their other areas of interest like playing sports, watching favourite TV shows, going out with friends which can sometimes cause depression or lead to frustration. So, to keep them away from negative thoughts and maintain their consistent performance, it is critical to recognize their effort by rewarding them in all possible ways. On the other hand, students who strive to secure good marks should also be awarded. This is because, even though they know that they are not performing well still they put their best foot forward to get the good marks. This requires them to make an extra effort to understand their weakness and try to improve on the same. Thus, it is very important to motivate these students for their effort and keep encouraging them for the progress they have achieved. To conclude, if a student is performing well or trying hard to achieve the same then, in my opinion, that student deserves credit and should be applauded for the effort.