By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. Discuss this statement and give your own opinion.

The rates of committing murders are increasing day by day and it is usual to see news about new crimes. Several countries have already been practising punishing murders with the death penalty, however, other ones still believe that killing murders is not the best solution to do justice and prefer sentencing them to jail. Although, there is not a trivial question to answer, both points of view are worth considering. To start with, the death penalty is the cruellest way of punishing murders. Consequently, when every murderer gets lethal punishments, it leads to a person thinks twice before taking away somebody’s life. As a result, the crime rates on the whole, and murders, in specific, might tend to decline in a country. In addition to that, if society executes a quite large number of criminals, it might suspend committing other murders. Thus, one killer’s death can save lots of a number of simple people’s lives. In contrast to that, sentencing murders to execution, it can lead to hardening society. Also, there are some chances that prisoners, who are accused of committing murder, are not the real ones. Therefore, they are sent to the death penalty, losing their lives before proving their innocence. Meanwhile, being sentenced to prison for the rest of their lives is also a decent type of punishment. For instance, there are opportunities to fix the criminals. Prison can not completely re-educate them, but, at least, they may realize what they had done previously are illegal, and imprisonment life might cause them to change their attitudes and behaviours by receiving lectures. Along with, prisoners are supplied with a better life-skill during the whole time in jail such as sewing, building houses and furniture, etc. Conversely, according to some circumstances, it is not unacceptable to let murder live. For example, a 19-years-old boy, who broke into the school and killed children and teachers in Kazan, Russia, or a man, who murdered and dismembered a female student in Almaty, Kazakhstan. Summing up, in my opinion, punishment should be chosen according to the types of crime or action. The death penalty is essential and fair enough for killers, but, at the same time, punishment by sending them to prison is also giving chance to establish peace and justice in society.