The world today is a safer place than it was a hundred years ago, and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Every part of the world is evidently trying to seize and conquer the other developing nations to be superior. This intervenes the insured risk associated with every nation on the globe, that needs to have a constant check on the security and well-being of its citizens. There are some disputes whether the national governing bodies should invest huge amounts in strenghtening the military bodies or not. While I believe that the armies are the ones with the help of whom the nation sleeps, I fully agree with the former view. My inclination towards the same is justified in the following paragraphs. There are several reasons why it is extremely essential to have a strong army. The fact is a country's strength is measured through its armed forces. For example, the first world countries like United States of America and Russia, before from the World Wars, had started building their manpower with extremely strict regimens, and build weapons like swords and guns, tested several missiles, and were able to conquer other nations and save their people. This impacted to sustain themselves in the list of developed first world nations. On the other hand, during the ancient times, when there were single rule empires, it was observed that the king would sacrifice the lives of the youth to save his kingdom. For instance, Africa which is still considered a backward country, had a ruler named Edi Amin, who had crazy mind, invested lot of money in several other sectors rather than building on his army. This resulted in huge devastation of the lives of people and invited many attacks from the other countries. To conclude, although today there is a lot of tight national security than it was years ago, the competition of becoming supreme still continues. And it is undeniable, that the country cannot overlook the people's worries, but to investigate and embark on every potential suspects that can harm its strength, which is completely managed by its soldiers. Hence, encouraging the armies and having a lion's share on them is of utmost priority, looking at the current global level scenario.