Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The debate surrounding whether military service should be mandatory for all juveniles who have completed their secondary education or not has sparked considerable controversy. It is clear that this situation is not as straightforward as it first appears, therefore I would like to discuss both perspectives in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there can be no doubt that military service is capable of instilling a sense of patriotism in the younger generation, resulting them to have a burgeoning interest in contributing to their nations and reciprocating the privileges they received from the government. Furthermore, the intense training that this service provides could shape a stronger individual, both physically and mentally. Take the Korean military service as the perfect example to encapsulate this issue; since Korea implemented this policy decades ago, it has one of the strongest soldiers in the world nowadays. In essence, the need for young men to join the military service offers substantial benefits to individuals and nations. On the other hand, the drawbacks of this sentiment should not be overlooked. Teenagers cannot be forced to participate in something that they are not passionate about. This is of paramount importance because it could lead to detrimental consequences to an individual’s mental health, as it can cause depression and anxiety. To illustrate, a professional therapist once mentioned that students who were forced to pursue courses that they did not prefer tend to have suicidal thoughts due to the immense pressure and obstacles they faced. To put it another way, making soldier training compulsory for everyone is not an effective method as it could affect individuals’ well-being. In conclusion, in light of what has been discussed, it is worth noting that there are both advantages and disadvantages to this sentiment. Although military service is able to shape a brighter future generation, individuals’ decisions also should be taken into consideration.