Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, think there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people believe that incarcerating criminals for longer is the most efficient manner to reduce crime, others argue that there are more effective ways to decrease crime. This essay will explain both views and ai will demonstrate why longer sentences are not the right path to take in fighting crime. The argument in support of longer imprisonments as a deterrent to commit crimes cannot be ignored. Many people say that today's laws, which regulate the sentencing of criminals, should be changed because they are not though enough to make criminals think twice before breaking the law. For example, anyone caught supplying class A drugs in the UK, when found guilty, is sentenced to a maximum of 5 years sentence. In real terms, this means that the total time a person will spend behind bars is just over two years, which is a risk many are willing to take because if they are caught, they will soon be out. However, if the rick was to be locked up for ten or fifteen years, many would not want to take it. The tougher is the punishment, the lower is the level of crime.  Despite this being a strong argument, other people believe there are much better ways to reduce crime. The solution to crime is not more time in prison, which would only make our detention centres even more crowded, but is investing more time and resources to understand the causing factors and prevent crimes. For instance, the recent study about crime in Brazil, which is a country where some of the most violent crimes take place, found out that social conditions, low education and failure to create opportunities to live a different life are the reasons people are drawn towards the criminal gangs. In other words, the fairer society is, the lower is the crime.  To conclude, although many think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences, I disagree with this. The solution will never be building more overcrowded jails, but building a better and more equal society instead.