There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or a bad thing?

Growing technology has increased the accessibility of an individual to all the areas of his interest in the last decade. However, this freedom to procure anything from the internet has raised serious concern, considering the economic loss suffered by the owner of these patent materials such as movies, literature, books and music. In this essay, I will discuss both positives and negatives of the forth mentioned affair along with my perspective. The Internet has completely revolutionized the entire world. Firstly, even today lot of people are living in far off areas without many of recreational opportunities. So, the internet remains the sole source of entertainment and learning for them. For instance, people living in the villages in the remote state of India hardly go to the cinema. But the presence of youtube helps them watch some of the latest movies at their home with ease, which keep their interest alive, in turn benefits the movie-makers by not losing their appreciable number of viewers. Additionally, considering the availability of a range of books on the internet keeps the spirit of avid readers high and motivated. This will push them to purchase the latest edition of their favourite author's book whenever it is available online. Nevertheless, the easy availability of all the materials on the internet has put a financial constraint on the patent holders. Many individuals prefer to watch pirated movies at home rather than spending time in a cinema hall. Similarly, some of the recently released songs are freely available on social media platforms. Thereby, it never compels consumers to purchase compact discs from the market. Lastly, people download books and literature from the internet which further contribute to income loss for the authors and publishers. To conclude, free internet services are definitely responsible for the economic losses, but at the same time it has kept the spirit alive in the heart of the society. So, in my perspective, the government must initiate some concrete steps to combat the financial damage suffered by owners.