What is it in the mass media that has negative effects on teenagers and what measures should governments take to solve this problem?

In contemporary life, the overwhelming majority of media has gained in popularity and made a paradigm shift in teenagers’ lifestyle. This tendency brings several drawbacks on the adolescents and definite actions should be adopted to tackle this problem. Due to the intensification of the Internet, disadvantages are anticipated. Firstly, an expansion in online media with a huge amount of access to such social networks as Facebook or Instagram in which users share unofficial and uncensored information with others is unpredictable. In other words, without control and prevention from parents, children are easily capable of getting access to sources that contain violence and gory sights. In fact, crimes such as sexual activities, drug abuse or animal murder tends to be uploaded rather than a positive development. The further issue is that the lack of ability to identify information of immature kids could lead to online scams, which may result in the leakage of personal data and loss of money. Last but not least, there is a significant increase in the number of teenagers who becomes over-reliant on social media because they prefer to engage in a sedentary lifestyle, which may cause a risk of obesity and mental health. There would be some compelling measures that government could implement to cope with. To begin with, a group of well-qualified online security guards who are rigidly trained to censor online content on social media should be considered as a feasible approach to curtail a vast amount of harmful websites. In addition, the government could impose a new strict policy to make sure that online producers should take responsibility for what is appeared on their platform and severe punishment should be applied to mitigate the problem. To sum up, the ubiquity of media has the negatives impacts on the young generation and becomes even worse unless there are serious solutions from the government.