Many people believe money is a very important factor for achieving happiness. Others, however, believe that money has nothing to do with happiness. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that every person needs money to lead a happy life. Some people think happiness is directly linked to the richness of an individual. However, to a great extent, I believe that one can live a peaceful life without having a high income. This essay discusses both viewpoints, and evaluates the reasons behind supporting the latter argument. Admittedly, money plays a crucial role in the survival of a person in the modern world. This is because even the basic amenities have their cost without which one cannot imagine a good life. For instance, for healthcare facilities or for buying food items, one must have enough cash to meet their daily requirements. Moreover, happiness is impossible without a quality education and a good house for the family to live. In fact, every materialistic item required for a decent lifestyle is linked with money. However, considering currency as the primary factor for a joyful life is not mandatory as it has its own drawbacks. Being rich does not guarantee mental peace as the majority of wealthy people generally suffer from stress and anxiety. To illustrate, as per Happiness Index Report published annually by United Nations Organisation reveals that citizens in countries having income are more satisfied with their lifestyle, whereas people in developed nations suffer from depression and isolation. Spending time with family members is imperative to find happiness and it costs nothing. In conclusion, although without money one cannot think about a good lifestyle, it should not be considered as the only factor of happiness. In my opinion, happiness is linked with mental peace and well-being and it has nothing to do with money.