Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Globally, medical science is developing rapidly and testing of the newly discovered medicines on animals has been a practice for a long time. Although there are debated views regarding the same, some still believe it is for the betterment of humankind and therefore should be continued. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I support such a practice. A group of people is strictly against such experiments for various reasons. According to them, animals are meant to be free in the wilderness. Unfortunately, for the selfish attitudes of human beings, most of the time these creatures are kept in captivity in laboratories for tests, which is not right. Apart from this, also after the application of the newly invented drugs a number of species have been extinct. An article published in The Hindu posits that a breed of mountain rats in northern India, for example, were killed as the medicine applied to it had adverse effects on that particular animal, which later on got spread among the entire species and pushed them to the brink of extinction. In my opinion, however, this is mere perception and does not have strong evidence. Despite the aforementioned aspects, there are people, including me, who support the testing of new medicines on animals for two important factors. The first logic they believe in is to protect humankind from any unforeseen consequences of the invention. When a new drug is developed, for example, the nuclear medicines for cancer, it might cause dire side effects on the patients, if not tested on beforehand. Adding to this, they also argue that the animals which are mostly used for such experiments have a higher reproduction rate. Therefore, running the necessary tests for the application of newly discovered drugs on them does not result in the extinction of the breed in any way. In conclusion, many will argue that running the tests on the animals not only pushes them to the brink of extinction but also creates an imbalance in the ecosystem, which, however, are not true. To protect mankind and to avoid the bigger consequences, it is the only resort that is less hazardous than others.