Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There is an opinion which argues that the governments should make a legal requirement of increasing recycle wastes in their countries because it is the only way to improve such environmental problem. From my perspective, I disagree with this viewpoint since I believe that apart from applying legal regulations, there are other measures to tackle the issue. First of all, it goes without saying that promulgating laws to residents plays an important role in encouraging people to recycle their waste. By having specific and detailed regulations from the governments, individuals may find it easier to abide by legal requirements and follow recycle instructions every time they suppose to throw away their garbage. For example, many coffee shops nowadays are asking customers to categorize their trashes into different types from organic and inorganic waste for reused purposes. Consequently, this activity not only helps to form good habits for individuals in terms of protecting the environment but also increase the amount of recycled waste every day. On the other hand, I assume other methods such as educating and enhancing people ’s self-consciousness can be taken into consideration by environmental specialists and governments. In fact, it is not always appropriate to adapt recycling laws to all people in a country, especially for those who are in poor families or have low incomes. I mean, these people are facing more serious problems in their lives such as managing to earn enough money for the bills and make ends meets. As a result, applying legal requirements of recycling waste will be unpractical and put another burden on them. Instead, the poor can be appealed to raise their children’s awareness of executing recycling activities such as reusing old bottles and nylon bags since they were a child. In conclusion, setting laws to make people recycle more of their waste is undeniably one of the most prominent measures to increase recycling and decrease factors affecting the environment. Though, to some extent, I think the governments should adopt other policies as well as measures while dealing with residents who live in poverty.