In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents, but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner. Discuss and give your own opinion.

Marriage is a vital institution that has a major impact on the lives of couples. In certain countries, people may have their marriages arranged by their parents, however, some have the freedom to choose their own partners. In the following paragraphs, both of these views will be discussed, and the opinion will be given in detail before the conclusion is reached. It is evident that arranged marriages often help preserve cultural and traditional values within a community. They ensure that individuals marry within their own cultural or religious group, maintaining social continuity of practices. Moreover, since the families have played an active role in the selection process of this type of marriage, it can lead to a strong support system for the couple. On the other hand, having a freedom to choose one’s own partner is a common practice in many societies nowadays. Self-arranged marriage allows people to select their spouses by personal preferences, based on love and affection. Consequently, this connection can provide a foundation of support, trust, and understanding, which are important for a healthy and lasting relationship. In my opinion, having parents choose a partner can lead to more negative aspects, particularly in terms of potential conflicts. There can be problems due to the individuals having different values and not being compatible with each other. Additionally, this can cause a strained relationship, unhappiness and even the breakdown of the pair. To summarize, the opinions on marriage differ, but it is still the personal decision to make. However, it seems to me that people should independently choose their own matches, in order to maintain a lifelong and fulfilling relationship.