Machine translation (MT) is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is no immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role from humans. Do you agree?

Translation by a qualified specialists can be fairly useful; nevertheless, translation by a computer-based program tends to be superior and will replace translators in near future. The latter opinion appears to be sensible and will be supported in this essay. First of all, developing an electronic interpreter is substantially cost-effective. Preparing a single translator requires at least 4 years of university education, significant financial investments and considerable efforts from a student. As a result, society obtains only one specialist whose service is restricted by a linguist location, physical and emotional condition. On contrary, although developing an electronic translation system demands a group of well-paid specialists, this program can be accomplished within 2 years. Moreover, the software can be utilized by many users at the same time with insignificant limitations. Second, the machine translation shows nearly the same accuracy as a human translator. Recently emerged computer technologies, such as artificial neural networks, machine learning and natural language processing, could demonstrate equal or even superior performance when used for a translation purpose. To illustrate the capability of those technologies the Yandex ‘Neuron’ project, which used popular rock group texts and music to create a unique musical album, can be mentioned. Penultimate, due to extensive education an interpreter service is considered expensive. An average person will have to pay a considerable amount of money to translate an article or a document. For example, a translation of a two-sheets article may require a 50 US dollars payment, whereas an electronic interpreter subscription will cost only 35 US dollars per year with unlimited use. In conclusion, although a service delivered by a human translator is still popular, in the near future this job will be completely replaced by machine translation technologies.