Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, an increasing number of parents are allowing their offspring to make decisions on daily matters, namely clothes, food and entertainment, based on their own desire. Numerous people claim that this might trigger selfish individuals in the future, whereas others argue that it is vital to let youngsters choose what they like. In this essay, I will discuss both mentioned views before drawing the conclusion why I lean toward the latter. On one hand, it is true that there is a possibility that a child who has the right to make choices from a very young age can grow up being egocentric and neglect the opinions of others. These youngsters are used to being the one who decides and have all their wishes fulfilled and if anything did not please them, they could get extremely furious and make a fuss. Additionally, given that children do not have a clear view about what is harmful or beneficial for them, there is a chance that they unintentionally expose themselves to toxic influences, which affects them adversely. For example, if a toddler can choose whatever he wants to watch on the Internet, he might choose a violent video by chance, which will have negative impacts on his mental health. On the other hand, I am more convinced that allowing children to be the decision-maker plays an essential role in their growth]. By doing so, youngsters can adopt a sense of independence as they do not have to rely on their parents and are able to do everything on their own, which benefits them in terms of self-understanding. For instance, a child who is able to choose what subject or skill that he wants to study will have further insights into his hobbies and abilities in comparison to those who follow what their parents tell them to do. Another point is that being a choice-maker helps children develop critical thinking and decision-making skills, providing that they have to consider carefully to take the optimal option that suits them best. Not only do these skills provide them opportunities to perform better at school, but it is also useful for them in their work later in life. In conclusion, it is undeniable that letting youngsters do whatever they want to on a regular basis can lead to self-centred grown-ups in the future. Nonetheless, I am of the opinion that this trend has various advantageous aspects in humans’ lives and plays an active role in children’s development.